Brad Roberts
Oct 12, 2011
Ali Çehreli
Oct 17, 2011
Granville Barnett
October 12, 2011
Dear Friends,

Here is the QUESTION:

Does anyone know of any good books that talk about how computers work abstractly enough to be a solid cross language foundation?

To put this question another way, I REALLY want to actually understand "The D Programming Language" by Andrei Alexandrescu.  I understand enough of it to be really excited about D, but not enough to start really programming with it.

EXPLANATION:

I'm new to systems language programming, although I have attempted to self-learn C++ a few times.

I had been looking over C, C++ and C#, and there is a tremendous amount of information about those languages available, but on a whim I decided to search and see if there was actually a "D" programming language.

Not only did I find "D", but I also found out that it's a relatively new language, and it appears to be cutting edge.  From what little knowledge I have about C++ programming, I can already see some serious advantages of putting time and effort into learning D because I think in the long run, it will be worth the effort.  Not to mention that "D" appears to have "fixed" some really complex, and potentially dangerous issues with C++ - issues that are over my head at the moment - but clearly stated enough that even a noob like me can see some ugly problems coming at me with C++ over the long haul. (Yes, I have crashed windows with bad C++ before).

I bought "The D Programming Language" and have been fascinated by it even though a lot of it is way over my head.