Thread overview
Impressed with Appender - Is there design/implementation description?
Dec 04, 2016
Jon Degenhardt
Dec 06, 2016
thedeemon
Dec 06, 2016
Anonymouse
Dec 06, 2016
Jonathan M Davis
Dec 06, 2016
Jon Degenhardt
December 04, 2016
I've been using Appender quite a bit recently, typically when I need append-only arrays with variable and unknown final sizes. I had been prepared to write a custom data structure when I started using it with large amounts of data, but very nicely this has not surfaced as a need. Appender has held up quite well.

I haven't actually benchmarked it against competing data structures, nor have I studied the implementation. I'd be very interested in understanding the design and how it compares to other data structures. Are there any write-ups or articles describing it?

--Jon
December 06, 2016
On Sunday, 4 December 2016 at 20:03:37 UTC, Jon Degenhardt wrote:
> I've been using Appender quite a bit recently, typically when I need append-only arrays with variable and unknown final sizes. I had been prepared to write a custom data structure when I started using it with large amounts of data, but very nicely this has not surfaced as a need. Appender has held up quite well.
>
> I haven't actually benchmarked it against competing data structures, nor have I studied the implementation. I'd be very interested in understanding the design and how it compares to other data structures. Are there any write-ups or articles describing it?
>
> --Jon

It's rather simple, just take a look at its source code in std.array.
It's an ordinary linear array partially filled with your data. When your data fills it up, it gets resized to make more space. Just two interesting points:

1. When it needs to grow it uses a formula like k = 1 + 10 / log2(newsize) for the growth factor (but with a limit of k <= 2), which means up to 16 KB it doubles the size each time, then tries to grow by a factor of 2/3, then by lower and lower factors.