View mode: basic / threaded / horizontal-split · Log in · Help
March 30, 2007
Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
[ re-posted from digitalmars.D newsgroup ]

I have Code::Blocks installed (looks ace)
Selected (default) compiler is 'Digital Mars D compiler'
- compiler settings has 'add symbolic debug info [-g]' checked
- linker settings has, under 'Other linker options', '-g'
  - Tool chain executables
    - debugger is ddbg_gdb.exe (and I copied ddbg.exe to
      c:\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe)
'debugger initialization commands' is blank


When I try to step in to my 'hello world' program I get:
>>>>>>>>>>>
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Build succeeded
Selecting target: Debug
Adding source dir: c:\d\dmd\bin
Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
Adding file: bin\Debug\hworld.exe
Starting debugger: done
Registered new type: wxString
Registered new type: STL String
Registered new type: STL Vector
Setting breakpoints
Program exited
Debugger finished with status 0
<<<<<<<<<<<<

...the program runs fine on the command line.

Any ideas, please?

-P
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
please post ddbg's output as described here:

(re-post from d.D)

check settings > compiler and debugger > debugger settings > display
debugger's log
you'll have a message tab "Debugger (debug)" which displays almost all
of the communication between codeblocks and ddbg.
ddbg will probably give a more verbose error message that you'll find there.
alternatively you can also try debugging your program on the command
line to find the problem.

Patrick Byrne wrote:
> [ re-posted from digitalmars.D newsgroup ]
> 
> I have Code::Blocks installed (looks ace)
> Selected (default) compiler is 'Digital Mars D compiler'
> - compiler settings has 'add symbolic debug info [-g]' checked
> - linker settings has, under 'Other linker options', '-g'
>   - Tool chain executables
>     - debugger is ddbg_gdb.exe (and I copied ddbg.exe to
>       c:\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe)
> 'debugger initialization commands' is blank
> 
> 
> When I try to step in to my 'hello world' program I get:
>>>>>>>>>>>>
> Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
> Build succeeded
> Selecting target: Debug
> Adding source dir: c:\d\dmd\bin
> Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
> Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
> Adding file: bin\Debug\hworld.exe
> Starting debugger: done
> Registered new type: wxString
> Registered new type: STL String
> Registered new type: STL Vector
> Setting breakpoints
> Program exited
> Debugger finished with status 0
> <<<<<<<<<<<<
> 
> ...the program runs fine on the command line.
> 
> Any ideas, please?
> 
> -P
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
Jascha Wetzel wrote:
> please post ddbg's output as described here:
> 
> (re-post from d.D)
> 
> check settings > compiler and debugger > debugger settings > display
> debugger's log
> you'll have a message tab "Debugger (debug)" which displays almost all
> of the communication between codeblocks and ddbg.
> ddbg will probably give a more verbose error message that you'll find there.
> alternatively you can also try debugging your program on the command
> line to find the problem.

Sorry, I already did that. Output is the same:

>>>>>>>>>>>
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Build succeeded
Selecting target: Debug
Adding source dir: c:\d\dmd\bin
Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
Adding file: bin\Debug\hworld.exe
Starting debugger: done
Registered new type: wxString
Registered new type: STL String
Registered new type: STL Vector
Setting breakpoints
Program exited
Debugger finished with status 0
<<<<<<<<<<<<

Guess I will try command-line debugging.  :-(
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
this is not the ddbg output.
note that there are two tabs, one called "Debugger" and one called
"Debugger (debug)". the former holds short infos from CB that are
independent of the debugger, the latter is the tab that holds the ddbg
output and what codeblocks sends to ddbg as input.

don't worry - if you're trying command-line debugging, you just do that
to fix this problem and get back to CB after that ;)

Patrick Byrne wrote:
> Jascha Wetzel wrote:
>> please post ddbg's output as described here:
>>
>> (re-post from d.D)
>>
>> check settings > compiler and debugger > debugger settings > display
>> debugger's log
>> you'll have a message tab "Debugger (debug)" which displays almost all
>> of the communication between codeblocks and ddbg.
>> ddbg will probably give a more verbose error message that you'll find
>> there.
>> alternatively you can also try debugging your program on the command
>> line to find the problem.
> 
> Sorry, I already did that. Output is the same:
> 
>>>>>>>>>>>>
> Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
> Build succeeded
> Selecting target: Debug
> Adding source dir: c:\d\dmd\bin
> Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
> Adding source dir: c:\d\hworld\
> Adding file: bin\Debug\hworld.exe
> Starting debugger: done
> Registered new type: wxString
> Registered new type: STL String
> Registered new type: STL Vector
> Setting breakpoints
> Program exited
> Debugger finished with status 0
> <<<<<<<<<<<<
> 
> Guess I will try command-line debugging.  :-(
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
Jascha Wetzel wrote:
> this is not the ddbg output.
> note that there are two tabs, one called "Debugger" and one called
> "Debugger (debug)". the former holds short infos from CB that are
> independent of the debugger, the latter is the tab that holds the ddbg
> output and what codeblocks sends to ddbg as input.

I see no 'Debugger (debug)' tab. I presume you mean the 'Code::Blocks 
Debug' tab, which has lots of stuff on it.

All that the debugger adds (after pressing 'Step-in') is:
[14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache updated 0
[14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache updated 0
[14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 1, cache updated 0
[14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache updated 0
[14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache updated 0
[14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache updated 0
[14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache updated 0

> don't worry - if you're trying command-line debugging, you just do that
> to fix this problem and get back to CB after that ;)

Well, this is my attempt at debugging so far:

C:\d\hworld>\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe bin\Debug\hworld.exe
Ddbg v0.0.5.3 alpha - D Debugger
Copyright (c) 2007 Jascha Wetzel
http://ddbg.mainia.de/

(gdb) break main
Breakpoint 0 at 0x00000000
(gdb) run
Error: couldn't write breakpoint opcode at :0
(gdb) n
Warning: Unknown command 'n' ignored!
(gdb) next
ERROR: Couldn't read from process' memory for disassembly: Only part of 
a ReadProcessMemory or WriteProcessMemory request was completed.

....I haven't used gdb before, but all does not seem to be well!

<* * *>

If I just start and run I get:

C:\d\hworld>\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe bin\Debug\hworld.exe
Ddbg v0.0.5.3 alpha - D Debugger
Copyright (c) 2007 Jascha Wetzel
http://ddbg.mainia.de/

(gdb) run
ntdll.dll  loaded
KERNEL32.dll  loaded
USER32.dll  loaded
GDI32.dll  loaded
IMM32.dll  loaded
ADVAPI32.dll  loaded
RPCRT4.dll  loaded
LPK.dll  loaded
USP10.dll  loaded
msvcrt.dll  loaded
Program exited
(gdb)

....which flashes up a DOS box, presumably with the 'hello world' 
output, though it doesn't wait for a key press as it should. If I run 
the program from Code::Blocks (without trying to step) it works ok:

hello world
args.length = 1
args[0] = 'c:\d\hworld\bin\Debug\hworld.exe'

Process returned 0 (0x0)   execution time : 0.015 s
Press any key to continue.


....most odd!


-P
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
did you check "settings > compiler and debugger > debugger settings >
display debugger's log"?
this enables the "Debugger (debug)" tab.

> (gdb) break main
> Breakpoint 0 at 0x00000000

break only accepts file:line locations, yet.
try somehting like "break main.d:1".

also you will have to "run" the process before using "next" (i will fix
that).
check out http://ddbg.mainia.de/doc.html for an example debug session
with the Ddbg syntax. i'd recommend using Ddbg syntax on the command
line, since Ddbg's GDB mode isn't as verbose.


Patrick Byrne wrote:
> Jascha Wetzel wrote:
>> this is not the ddbg output.
>> note that there are two tabs, one called "Debugger" and one called
>> "Debugger (debug)". the former holds short infos from CB that are
>> independent of the debugger, the latter is the tab that holds the ddbg
>> output and what codeblocks sends to ddbg as input.
> 
> I see no 'Debugger (debug)' tab. I presume you mean the 'Code::Blocks
> Debug' tab, which has lots of stuff on it.
> 
> All that the debugger adds (after pressing 'Step-in') is:
> [14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache
> updated 0
> [14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache
> updated 0
> [14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 1, cache
> updated 0
> [14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache
> updated 0
> [14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache
> updated 0
> [14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache
> updated 0
> [14:38:28.951]: Scanned 0 files for #includes, cache used 0, cache
> updated 0
> 
>> don't worry - if you're trying command-line debugging, you just do that
>> to fix this problem and get back to CB after that ;)
> 
> Well, this is my attempt at debugging so far:
> 
> C:\d\hworld>\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe bin\Debug\hworld.exe
> Ddbg v0.0.5.3 alpha - D Debugger
> Copyright (c) 2007 Jascha Wetzel
> http://ddbg.mainia.de/
> 
> (gdb) break main
> Breakpoint 0 at 0x00000000
> (gdb) run
> Error: couldn't write breakpoint opcode at :0
> (gdb) n
> Warning: Unknown command 'n' ignored!
> (gdb) next
> ERROR: Couldn't read from process' memory for disassembly: Only part of
> a ReadProcessMemory or WriteProcessMemory request was completed.
> 
> ....I haven't used gdb before, but all does not seem to be well!
> 
> <* * *>
> 
> If I just start and run I get:
> 
> C:\d\hworld>\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe bin\Debug\hworld.exe
> Ddbg v0.0.5.3 alpha - D Debugger
> Copyright (c) 2007 Jascha Wetzel
> http://ddbg.mainia.de/
> 
> (gdb) run
> ntdll.dll  loaded
> KERNEL32.dll  loaded
> USER32.dll  loaded
> GDI32.dll  loaded
> IMM32.dll  loaded
> ADVAPI32.dll  loaded
> RPCRT4.dll  loaded
> LPK.dll  loaded
> USP10.dll  loaded
> msvcrt.dll  loaded
> Program exited
> (gdb)
> 
> ....which flashes up a DOS box, presumably with the 'hello world'
> output, though it doesn't wait for a key press as it should. If I run
> the program from Code::Blocks (without trying to step) it works ok:
> 
> hello world
> args.length = 1
> args[0] = 'c:\d\hworld\bin\Debug\hworld.exe'
> 
> Process returned 0 (0x0)   execution time : 0.015 s
> Press any key to continue.
> 
> 
> ....most odd!
> 
> 
> -P
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
Patrick Byrne wrote:
> Jascha Wetzel wrote:
>  > this is not the ddbg output.
>  > note that there are two tabs, one called "Debugger" and one called
>  > "Debugger (debug)". the former holds short infos from CB that are
>  > independent of the debugger, the latter is the tab that holds the ddbg
>  > output and what codeblocks sends to ddbg as input.
> 
> I see no 'Debugger (debug)' tab. I presume you mean the 'Code::Blocks 
> Debug' tab, which has lots of stuff on it.

There should also be a "Debugger (debug)" tab after you turn the 
mentioned option on.
In some screen resolutions not all tabs may fit on the screen though. In 
that case, you should use the two small triangles to the right of the 
tabs to scroll them.

[snip]
> ....which flashes up a DOS box, presumably with the 'hello world' 
> output, though it doesn't wait for a key press as it should.

Are you sure it should wait? Code::Blocks by default runs console apps 
through a wrapper that asks for a key press, but since you're running 
the program without it that won't happen unless the program explicitly 
asks for one itself.
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
Jascha Wetzel wrote:
> did you check "settings > compiler and debugger > debugger settings >
> display debugger's log"?
> this enables the "Debugger (debug)" tab.

I did, I did!

Perhaps this is broken in the latest CB build (downloaded today).

>> (gdb) break main
>> Breakpoint 0 at 0x00000000
> 
> break only accepts file:line locations, yet.
> try somehting like "break main.d:1".

Ok, working now, ta:

C:\d\hworld>\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe bin\Debug\hworld.exe
Ddbg v0.0.5.3 alpha - D Debugger
Copyright (c) 2007 Jascha Wetzel
http://ddbg.mainia.de/

(gdb) break hello.d:1
Breakpoint 0 at 0x00402010
(gdb) run
..
msvcrt.dll  loaded
→→hello.d:3:0:begmidl:0x00402010
(gdb) next
→→hello.d:5:0:begmidl:0x00402014...

> also you will have to "run" the process before using "next" (i will fix
> that).

great!

> check out http://ddbg.mainia.de/doc.html for an example debug session
> with the Ddbg syntax. i'd recommend using Ddbg syntax on the command
> line, since Ddbg's GDB mode isn't as verbose.

....but Code::Blocks will need to work with the gdb syntax, I presume?

-P
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
Frits van Bommel wrote:
 > There should also be a "Debugger (debug)" tab after you turn the
> mentioned option on.
> In some screen resolutions not all tabs may fit on the screen though. In 
> that case, you should use the two small triangles to the right of the 
> tabs to scroll them.

got it now. It was off screen. Sorry - I am unfamiliar with this style 
of gui furniture.   ;-)

> [snip]
>> ....which flashes up a DOS box, presumably with the 'hello world' 
>> output, though it doesn't wait for a key press as it should.
> 
> Are you sure it should wait? Code::Blocks by default runs console apps 
> through a wrapper that asks for a key press, but since you're running 
> the program without it that won't happen unless the program explicitly 
> asks for one itself.

Ok thanks.

-P
March 30, 2007
Re: Can't get ddbg to work in Code::Blocks
Patrick Byrne wrote:
> Ok, working now, ta:
> 
> C:\d\hworld>\dmd\bin\ddbg_gdb.exe bin\Debug\hworld.exe
> Ddbg v0.0.5.3 alpha - D Debugger
> Copyright (c) 2007 Jascha Wetzel
> http://ddbg.mainia.de/
> 
> (gdb) break hello.d:1
> Breakpoint 0 at 0x00402010
> (gdb) run
> ..
> msvcrt.dll  loaded
> →→hello.d:3:0:begmidl:0x00402010
> (gdb) next
> →→hello.d:5:0:begmidl:0x00402014...

this looks like stepping works. now you just need to check what the
output looks like in CB and compare.

> ....but Code::Blocks will need to work with the gdb syntax, I presume?

yep. the difference is only syntax and detail of the output. therefore i
recommend the Ddbg syntax when troubleshooting the debugger on the
command line.
« First   ‹ Prev
1 2
Top | Discussion index | About this forum | D home