Mar 29, 2012
Jakob Ovrum
Mar 29, 2012
James Miller
Mar 29, 2012
Jakob Ovrum
March 28, 2012
In another thread
(http://forum.dlang.org/thread/CAMfGmZsNX3GsOFVyUaCX79E4H8eTBXqDmUJtm41JSzRNtME=RQ@mail.gmail.com)
I raged about std.container's documentation, then Teoh pointed out
that a lot of Phobos documentation needs improving. While he was
talking about content, it got me thinking about the actual
presentation of Phobos's documentation. Now, I have an interest in UX
and I am a web developer my trade, so here's what I think it wrong
with general layout+design right now and what could be done to fix it.

1. The "Jump To" index.
This is the worst one for me, hence top of the list, its an inline
list of the classes, structs and functions on the page. Actually,
technically its a list of all the anchors on the page, with duplicate
names removed and then sorted (poorly) and outputted all in a row.
While this is manageable for say std.array, its ~4.5 lines on
std.string. Some modules have tables at the beginning that replace the
index, and this is better (std.algorithm for example) but can become
out of date, due to the fact that it is hand-maintained.

2. No ordering + unobvious separation of elements
Due to what I can only assume is the way DDoc generates code, there is
no obvious ordering to the page, you can have a class definition
followed by its methods followed by a few top-level functions then a
struct and its members. Combine this with the fact that all "things"
are styled the same, with indenting for members, you can easily get
lost scanning through a class when you suddenly find yourself at a
completely different class.

3. No search
Ok, there is a search, it is a small box, near the top, that searches
either: the entire site, the library reference or the news group. It
hands it off to Google and returns a Google search. This isn't very
good for user experience, ideally you wouldn't leave the site, it
would be internal and use the fact that you are searching