Sep 08, 2004
J C Calvarese
Sep 09, 2004
WB
Sep 09, 2004
Stewart Gordon
September 07, 2004
Hello,

I am new to D. I was looking for something like this for a long time. IMHO D provides the best of C and C++, improving it. So if D could also provide the best of Java it would be perfect.

The best of Java is the Java API. In Java you open a window and draw a picture from an input stream of pixels with 10 lines of code, because of the Java API Class library:

java.awt.Frame
java.awt.Image
java.io.InputStream
etc.

D could provide it's own API Class library providing classes for windowing, io, etc. at some high abstraction level in Java fashion, something like

d.awt.*
d.xml.*
d.crypto.*

as a part of the language, along with the low level std.* Phobos runtime library.

Platform versioning makes it easy (well...) to have such a class library platform independent, and if a class is not ported at least you let the compiler know that it is not supported on that platform.

I know that this is a HUGE feature request that can't be done for next month.

But if something like this would be known to be under construction it could be another good argument for people switching to D.

Most probably  this is not a new topic at all, but I couldn't find anything about it in recent discussion threads and forums and i would like to know if somebody else has n opinion about this.

September 07, 2004
In article <n3mrj0971vo0q4ju9eo0gfmu9k69tc2v1l@4ax.com>, WB says...
>
>Hello,
>
>I am new to D. I was looking for something like this for a long time. IMHO D provides the best of C and C++, improving it. So if D could also provide the best of Java it would be perfect.
>
>The best of Java is the Java API. In Java you open a window and draw a picture from an input stream of pixels with 10 lines of code, because of the Java API Class library:
>

Java is pretty different, IMHO. It has a very different philosophy (write once,
run it everywhere).

>java.awt.Frame
>java.awt.Image
>java.io.InputStream