Feb 12, 2018
lobo
Feb 13, 2018
ketmar
Feb 12, 2018
Kagamin
February 12, 2018
Hi,

I'm new to D so can someone explain to me what is happening here?

void func(const char* s, char** e) {
    import core.stdc.stdlib;
    auto result = strtod(s, e);
}

Error: function core.stdc.stdlib.strtod (scope inout(char)* nptr, scope inout(char)** endptr) is not callable using argument types (const(char*), char**)

I've found I have to use the following:

void func(inout (char)* s, inout(char)** e)

I thought inout was supposed to take const or non-const variants, so expected the original const char* s to work.

Thanks,
Norm
February 12, 2018
Norm wrote:

> Hi,
>
> I'm new to D so can someone explain to me what is happening here?
>
>
> void func(const char* s, char** e) {
>      import core.stdc.stdlib;
>      auto result = strtod(s, e);
> }
>
> Error: function core.stdc.stdlib.strtod (scope inout(char)* nptr, scope inout(char)** endptr) is not callable using argument types (const(char*), char**)

there is a difference between `const char* s`, and `const(char)* s`.
the former means that both `s` and `*s` cannot change, the latter means that `s` can be changed, but `*s` cannot. i.e. the first form means that you cannot do pointer arithmetic with `s`, while with second form you can (only *contents* are const, not the pointer itself).

that is, `strtod` wants const *contents*, but not pointer. `const(char)* s`.
February 12, 2018
On Monday, 12 February 2018 at 05:33:16 UTC, Norm wrote:
> I thought inout was supposed to take const or non-const variants, so expected the original const char* s to work.

The problem is in argument e: it's mutable, and strtod stores there a part of s, if s is const you end up with const data available for writing through e. Should be const(char)** e.
February 12, 2018
On Monday, 12 February 2018 at 05:37:23 UTC, ketmar wrote:
> Norm wrote:
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> I'm new to D so can someone explain to me what is happening here?
>>
>>