On 9 Apr 2019, at 03:58, Mike Franklin via dmd-internals <dmd-internals@puremagic.com> wrote:

That's an awfully broad question.  I'm no expert in DMD, but I do dabble in the source code often.  

I'd start here: https://wiki.dlang.org/DMD_Source_Guide  The information there is old but still relevant.

This is my mental model and understanding

source code --> lexer.d --> tokesn
tokens --> parse.d --> expressions (see expression.d)
expressions --> expressionsem.d --> lowered expressions
lowered expressions --> e2ir --> intermediate representation (I'm awufully vauge on this)
After that it's in the backend, and that's pretty much a black box to me.

I can add to the above that the parser is a subclass of the lexer. The parser will retrieve the next token when it needs to, to continue parsing. The parsing is initiated from `Module.parse` in `dmodule.d` [1] which will then call `Parser.parseModule` in `parse.d`. After that the semantic analyzing phase will begin with the call to `dsymbolSemantic` for each module given to the compiler. This is all available in `mars.d`, which contains the entry point of the compiler.

Tracing with `printf` is your friend, which is why you see so many commented `printf` statements in the source code.  You should be able to print out almost anything with with the `toChars()` method (e.g. `printf("%s\n", whatever.toChars());`)