May 16, 2017
kinke
May 16, 2017
Marvin Gülker
May 16, 2017
Mike Parker
May 15, 2017
Hi everyone,

I am mainly a Linux developer and find working on Windows rather complicated. My most recent try confirmed that; I wanted to write a D application using GraphicsMagick's C interface -- now I have a mixture of compilers on my Windows machine (MinGW GCC, Msys2 GCC, MSVC, LDC, DMD) and I still get linking errors.

That only for the context. Since I previously had good experience in
using a Linux -> Windows crosscompiler for regular C/C++ (MXE[1]) I thought
it could be possible to have something similar for D. Until now I have
been using dmd, but Internet research told me dmd cannot be built as a
crosscompiler. GDC appears to be a one-man show and is still pending
upstream GCC approval, so I decided to go with LDC.

Thus, is it possible to build an LDC crosscompiler that is hosted on x86_64 Linux and targets i686/x86_64 Windows? If so, how? I didn't find any information on the topic, people appeareantly only ever want to target ARM (cell phones?), which is not what I am interested in.

Greetings
Marvin

[1]: http://mxe.cc

-- 
Blog: https://www.guelkerdev.de
PGP/GPG ID: F1D8799FBCC8BC4F
May 15, 2017
On Monday, 15 May 2017 at 09:27:36 UTC, Marvin Gülker wrote:
> Hi everyone,
>
> I am mainly a Linux developer and find working on Windows rather complicated. My most recent try confirmed that; I wanted to write a D application using GraphicsMagick's C interface -- now I have a mixture of compilers on my Windows machine (MinGW GCC, Msys2 GCC, MSVC, LDC, DMD) and I still get linking errors.

Are you mixing object files produced by different D compilers?  That won't work, you need to compile all your D code with a single D compiler.

> That only for the context. Since I previously had good experience in
> using a Linux -> Windows crosscompiler for regular C/C++ (MXE[1]) I thought
> it could be possible to have something similar for D. Until now I have