June 23, 2007
Walter Bright wrote:
> Sean Kelly wrote:
>> Walter Bright wrote:
>>> Sean Kelly wrote:
>>>> Matter of opinion, I suppose.  The C++ design was immediately clear to me, though it obviously wasn't for others.  I grant that the aliasing problem can be confusing, but I feel that it is a peripheral issue.
>>>
>>> I don't think it is a peripheral issue. It completely screws up optimization, is useless for threading support, and has spawned endless angst about why C++ code is slower than Fortran code.
>>
>> As a programmer, I consider the optimization problem to be a non-issue.    Optimization is just magic that happens to make my program run faster.
> 
> Optimization often makes the difference between a successful project and a failure. C++ has failed to supplant FORTRAN, because although in every respect but one C++ is better, that one - optimization of arrays - matters a whole lot. It drives people using C++ to use inline assembler. They spend a lot of time on the issue. Various proposals to fix it, like 'noalias' and 'restrict', consume vast amounts of programmer time. And time is money.

FORTRAN is also helped by having a fairly standardized ABI that can be called easily from lots of languages, which C++ lacks.  But C has that, and it has also failed to supplant FORTRAN for numeric code.  But I think Sean's right.  A lot of that is just that the language supports things like actual multi-dimensional arrays (by 'actual' I mean contiguous memory rather than pointers to pointers), and mathematical operations on them right out of the box.  Telling a numerics person that C/C++ will give them much better IO and GUI support, but take them a step back in terms of core numerics is like trying to sell a hunter a fancy new gun with a fantastic scope that will let you pinpoint a mouse at 500 yards but -- oh, I should mention it only shoots bb's.