September 24, 2014
On Wednesday, 24 September 2014 at 08:04:18 UTC, ketmar via Digitalmars-d wrote:
> On Wed, 24 Sep 2014 07:56:58 +0000
> Atila Neves via Digitalmars-d <digitalmars-d@puremagic.com> wrote:
>
>> This isn't true. I'm a C++ developer who migrated to D. I'm still (also) a C++ developer. And a D developer. And a Python developer. And...
> so you aren't migrated. using D for some throwaway utils and so on is
> not "migrating". "migrating" is "most of codebase in D".

Most of us cannot afford to be a "Technology X" developer.

Every project, every client is a complete new world.

--
Paulo
September 24, 2014
On Wednesday, 24 September 2014 at 05:44:15 UTC, ketmar via Digitalmars-d wrote:
> On Tue, 23 Sep 2014 21:59:53 -0700
> Brad Roberts via Digitalmars-d <digitalmars-d@puremagic.com> wrote:
>
>> I understand quite thoroughly why c++ support is a big win
> i believe it's not.
>

Every C++ shop I've been has one or several C++ codebase that just can't just be rewritten while the customers patiently wait.

To thrive in the enterprise D must wait for a greenfield project with zero pre-existing source files (ie. rare), be a small project, or be able to interact with the legacy codebase.

I think Andrei accurately identified C++ interop as the top-goal.
September 24, 2014
On Wednesday, 24 September 2014 at 07:41:48 UTC, ketmar via Digitalmars-d wrote:
> On Tue, 23 Sep 2014 23:24:21 -0700
> Andrei Alexandrescu via Digitalmars-d <digitalmars-d@puremagic.com>
> wrote:
>
>> > I completely agree. Lets focus on the D users we actually have, not
>> > some imaginary C++ users that will come running as soon as there is
>> > enough C++ support.
>> Those are very real. I know this for a fact. -- Andrei
> all three of them.

I don't understand how it isn't obvious how important C++ interop would be in getting new users to switch. I especially don't understand it since it's been mentioned several times so far how important C interop was for C++'s adoption.