January 25, 2016
On Mon, 2016-01-25 at 21:31 +1300, Rikki Cattermole via Digitalmars-d- announce wrote:
> 
[…]
> Nope just no.
> I am only talking about newbies here.
> They will pick distributions of Python that are all encompassing.
> 
> http://winpython.github.io/#overview
> When it comes to newbies who come into programming seeing from all
> of
> their previous experience that things like GUI toolkit just comes
> with
> the language they just don't care if it was provided "extra" by a
> distribution or by the language itself. Only that they did exactly 0
> beyond importing and using it.

I'm afraid this whole view on the Python world is an old and long gone one. Even on Windows. Trust me on this I have been training people in Python since 2006. I have seen the whole scene change. Dramatically.

Oh and by the way, noone actually uses the one graphics system that comes as standard in Python. Everyone uses PyQt, wxPython, Phoenix, Gtk, direct bindings to other graphics libraries.

Pip is now core to everyone, even beginners use of Python. PyPI  may still have elements of crapness about it, but it is there, it is used, from Day 1 by most people learning Python.

> During my degree, the final programming class was Python.
> Everyone used WinPython except me. At the time pip didn't even work
> in
> it. Yes you heard me correct.

True, but how long ago was that? Python distributes pip in the Windows and OSX distributions. Package-based platforms tend to package it themselves. In fact all the commands are just entries into the library. Analogy: Dub is part of Phobos. If tehre is anything to add to Phobos it has to be Dub.

> When they had to use other code, they had no way or will to even try
> what wasn't part of it and so in their eyes what they had downloaded
> was
> Python. Because it really does appear to be Python.