August 04, 2015
I'm not a programmer myself and used D for a project in computational
electromagnetics. While I had to implement numerical integration and a bit
of linear algebra which was annoying (would be really useful in phobos), it
was a joy to work with and the resulting program was incredibly fast.
Most others used matlab and the difference in speed was more than a factor
100. Not only that, prototyping went quicker in D.

I've also written a simulation of the dual slit experiment which I'll drop somewhere on github once the code is presentable.

So, if you don't mind having to implement a few algorithms that are already available in numpy, D will be pleasant and fast.

2015-08-04 11:48 GMT+02:00 Chris via Digitalmars-d < digitalmars-d@puremagic.com>:

> On Sunday, 2 August 2015 at 16:25:18 UTC, Yura wrote:
>
>> Dear D coders/developers,
>>
>> I am just thinking on one project in computational chemistry, and it is sort of difficult for me to pick up the right language this project to be written. The project is going to deal with the generation of the molecular structures and will resemble to some extent some bio-informatic stuff. Personally I code in two languages - Python, and a little bit in C (just started to learn this language).
>>
>> While it is easy to code in Python there are two things I do not like:
>>
>> 1) Python is slow for nested loops (much slower comparing to C)
>> 2) Python is not compiled. However, I want to work with a code which can
>> be compiled and distributed as binaries (at least at the beginning).
>>
>> When it comes to C, it is very difficult to code (I am a chemist rather than computer scientist). The pointers, memory allocation, absence of the truly dynamically allocated arrays, etc, etc make the coding very long. C is too low level I believe.
>>