January 30, 2013
On Wednesday, 30 January 2013 at 04:39:13 UTC, Adam D. Ruppe wrote:
> There's times when a member variable manages its own invariant and any of its values is valid for the containing class, in which case the container doesn't need to further restrict access to it.

But yes, there are times, when a public member variable, which encapsulates its own data, is truly designed as a part of the interface, in which case it doesn't need to be encapsulated any further.
January 30, 2013
On Wednesday, January 30, 2013 05:57:14 Jesse Phillips wrote:
> It seems at least some members for @property feel that currently functions are being annotated with @property that shouldn't be.

The prime example of that would be save.

- Jonathan M Davis
January 30, 2013
On Wednesday, 30 January 2013 at 04:57:15 UTC, Jesse Phillips wrote:
> I don't agree with the argument that properties provide a convince to identify low overhead access. While I'm not experienced in this area, profile code should indicate where performance is poor, it would be bad to assume "that looks like a field, so it must not be where the performance is bad."
>

Yes, this is true, like always. Even when property isn't involved.

Fectching memory that isn't in cache anymore is typically 200-250 CPU cycles on modern x86 architecture. Getting that from a register is immediate. Accessing a variable has unknown cost, and only profile can reveal the truth here.

Considering that property/function have some importance in regard of performance is in complete contradiction with how computer and code actually work now.

The difference is semantic. In case of property, you think data, in case of function, you think action.
January 30, 2013
On Wednesday, 30 January 2013 at 05:07:15 UTC, Jonathan M Davis wrote:
> On Wednesday, January 30, 2013 05:57:14 Jesse Phillips wrote:
>> It seems at least some members for @property feel that currently
>> functions are being annotated with @property that shouldn't be.
>