Mar 07, 2010
Sean Kelly
Mar 08, 2010
Sean Kelly
Mar 08, 2010
Sean Kelly
March 03, 2010
Hi,

Recently, I found myself in need of the functionality that is (or should have been) in std.process, but unfortunately I found it lacking in many respects.  Assuming that improving it currently isn't at the top of the to-do list for Phobos, I decided not to wait, and rather to write my own version.  If you want you can check it out here:

Code:   http://github.com/kyllingstad/ltk/blob/master/ltk/process.d Docs:   http://kyllingen.net/code/ltk/doc/process.html

I don't know if any of it is usable for Phobos, but if it is, I'd be happy to contribute.

I've tried to write it in the style of std.concurrency, with a function spawnProcess() that returns a Pid struct.  Currently it is for POSIX only, since I have no experience at all with the Windows API.

-Lars
March 04, 2010
Looks good to me. If everybody else agrees, I'd be glad to extend you an offer for write access to Phobos so you can commit the changes yourself.

Andrei

Lars Tandle Kyllingstad wrote:
> Hi,
> 
> Recently, I found myself in need of the functionality that is (or should have been) in std.process, but unfortunately I found it lacking in many respects.  Assuming that improving it currently isn't at the top of the to-do list for Phobos, I decided not to wait, and rather to write my own version.  If you want you can check it out here:
> 
> Code:   http://github.com/kyllingstad/ltk/blob/master/ltk/process.d Docs:   http://kyllingen.net/code/ltk/doc/process.html
> 
> I don't know if any of it is usable for Phobos, but if it is, I'd be happy to contribute.
> 
> I've tried to write it in the style of std.concurrency, with a function spawnProcess() that returns a Pid struct.  Currently it is for POSIX only, since I have no experience at all with the Windows API.
> 
> -Lars
> _______________________________________________
> phobos mailing list
> phobos at puremagic.com
> http://lists.puremagic.com/mailman/listinfo/phobos