October 28, 2006
How about an attibute to the 'module' statement. E.g. public:

file mypackage/mymod1.d:
public module mypackage.mymod1;

file mypackage/mymod2.d:
module mypackage.mymod2;

the import with a star, does now an import of all modules in the package, which have a 'public' module statement.

file main.d:
import mypackage.*; // imports mypackage.mymod

October 28, 2006
On Sat, 2006-10-28 at 12:39 +0200, Frank Benoit (keinfarbton) wrote:
> the import with a star, does now an import of all modules in the package, which have a 'public' module statement.

I'd say that importing with an asterisk is a bad practice, because it
hints, that the user could write something like this:
	import package.*ule
Or even:
	import pack*.*ul*.*

So, I must still insist on using just the package name and not the Java style asterisk.

Mart

October 28, 2006
Mart Roosmaa wrote:
> Hello everybody,
> 
> I am quite new to D and when learning how the packages and modules
> worked, it seemed strange to me that if one wanted to import whole
> packages one would have to create a module (for example a module called
> "All") and do public imports of every other module in the package.
> 
> While this approach works, it's quite painful to keep that module up to
> date, as people tend to forget to update the central module doing the
> public imports.
> 
> Now, I propose to extend the import declaration so that if only a
> package is given, it imports all modules in that package.
> For example "import std.c;" would import std.c.fenv, std.c.math,
> std.c.process, std.c.stdargs, etc modules.
> 
> This approach would keep the code a bit easier to maintain as one
> wouldn't have to update the public imports module all the time.
> 
> What do you think? Could it be implemented in DMD?