February 27, 2020
On Thursday, 27 February 2020 at 00:21:36 UTC, Walter Bright wrote:
> So would DIP1027.

We know. It is *almost* there, the format string idea is a good one. But DIP1027 had a fatal flaw: it made type safety impossible.

One small change - wrapping the format string in a new type while keeping the rest of the tuple exactly the same - fixes that fatal flaw. And as a cool bonus, the simple fact that there's a type around it - with no special rules; it is just a struct to identify that it is a format string - unlocks more potential with it too.

I tried to put it as a dip back on Feb 4 (and it is now on github: https://github.com/dlang/DIPs/pull/186 ) but I don't know how to word this in spec language. I'm a D programmer, not a spec author :(
February 26, 2020
On 2/26/2020 4:46 PM, Adam D. Ruppe wrote:
> But DIP1027 had a fatal flaw: it made type safety impossible.

I don't see how that is true.
February 27, 2020
On Thursday, 27 February 2020 at 03:50:35 UTC, Walter Bright wrote:
> On 2/26/2020 4:46 PM, Adam D. Ruppe wrote:
>> But DIP1027 had a fatal flaw: it made type safety impossible.
>
> I don't see how that is true.

Because it turned a format string into a list of built-in types indistinguishable from a set of manual parameters. You cannot in principle tell the difference between "test $i" and ("test %s", i) - you cannot write a function that takes a string and then *any other type* and is also protected from being accidentally called with a format string.

Features should be as simple as they can be, but no simpler. - The point of simplicity is predictability. DIP1027 is so simple that it crosses back into surprising.
February 27, 2020
On Thursday, 27 February 2020 at 00:20:27 UTC, Walter Bright wrote:
> On 2/26/2020 3:13 AM, Petar Kirov [ZombineDev] wrote:
>> In all other languages with string interpolation that I'm familiar with, `a` is not passed to the `i` parameter.
>