June 30, 2013
In the talk Andrei seems to mentions that D's associative arrays are lacking in performance somehow. I'm very new to D, but it's not obvious to me what the shortcoming is. I assume it's that for some reason it's hard to specialize associative arrays to specfic types to give increased performance in specfic cases, but I'm unclear why that would be difficult. Could someone please elaborate?
June 30, 2013
On 6/30/2013 2:50 AM, Joakim wrote:
> I wondered if you have any opinion on such code reuse, if someone takes your
> code and closes it, even if you wouldn't try to block it because you have
> already released it under a permissive license.

No, I don't have an opinion on it, other than that I'd rather they didn't try to create an incompatible language and still call it "D".

June 30, 2013
On Sunday, 30 June 2013 at 19:24:54 UTC, Walter Bright wrote:
> On 6/30/2013 2:50 AM, Joakim wrote:
>> I wondered if you have any opinion on such code reuse, if someone takes your
>> code and closes it, even if you wouldn't try to block it because you have
>> already released it under a permissive license.
>
> No, I don't have an opinion on it, other than that I'd rather they didn't try to create an incompatible language and still call it "D".
OK, glad to hear that you wouldn't be against it.  You'd be surprised how many who use permissive licenses still go nuts when you propose to do exactly what the license allows, ie close up parts of the source.

Since you have been so gracious to use such permissive licenses for almost all of D, I'm sure someone will try the closed/paid experiment someday and see if which of us is right. :)
June 30, 2013
On Sunday, June 30, 2013 21:05:41 CJS wrote: