23-Feb-2013 22:40, Russel Winder пишет:
> On Sat, 2013-02-23 at 21:44 +0400, Dmitry Olshansky wrote:
> […]
>> I have to say that no amount of provided out of the box nice libraries
>> and top-notch GC help alleviate the dire need for plain value-types and
>> some kind of terseness (rows of static final int xyz = blah; to define a
>> bunch of constants). With Java version being 5 or 6 (as is usually the
>> case in production ATM) there is basically not a single construct to
>> avoid horrible duplication of information on each line.
>
> Maybe in Java 1.4, 8 years ago a plethora of public static final int
> constants, but these days seeing that implies a bad design, a complete
> lack of updating/refactoring of the software to modern Java features, or
> simple laziness. Java 5 introduced more than generics.

Admittedly I'm no expert on Java. Hence "have to work".
Would be nice to know if there is something that can represent this C snippet without the usual heaps of verbosity:
enum {
STATUS_OK = 0,
STATUS_FAIL_REASON_XYZ,
... ad infinitum (but presently dozens)
};

There are lots of other cases, but this one is prime.

You might argue for using classes and inheritance + visitor pattern instead of plain switch/state machines. The heaps of boilerplate to write/generate all of "state"/visitor etc. classes argues the other way around.
(and I suspect the execution speed too)

>
> The G1 GC is a significant improvements to Java.

I guess this depends on the platform you (have to) use?
BTW I agree that Java's GC is nice, more so the automatic de-heapification of modern VMs.

>
> Java supports value types, albeit as objects on the heap. Give me an
> example of the problem so we can approach this with more than waffly
> statements.